Van Baarle wins fastest issue of Paris

Outsider Tip Dylan Van Baarle leaned exhausted on the handlebar and buried his face disbelief in his hands. On Easter Sunday, the Dutch cyclist won the fastest Paris Roubaix of history and celebrated with the triumph in the "hell of the north" the greatest success of his career. With an average speed of 45.792 km / h, Van Baarle crossed the finish line in the famous Velodrom of Roubaix as a soloist. Second, the Belgian Wout Van Aert was in front of the Swiss Stefan Küng. Ex-winner John Degenkolb occupied as the best German place 18, Nils Politt drove to rank 22.

"I could not believe it when I drove alone into Velodrom. I looked where the others are. But I was al1. That was crazy," said Van Baarle after the 254.5 kilometer-long ride over 30 cobblestone sectors. Two weeks ago, the 29-year-old had to satisfy two at the Flanders Runge. Now he succeeded by the big litter. As a trophy, there was a massive paving stone as usual.

The men's race took a little more than 200 kilometers before the goal. The British Team Ineos Grenadiers drove the field to a wind edge apart and a top group of over 70 drivers formed. The favorites Mathieu van der Poel, Van Aert or Kasper Asgreen all missed the attack as well as Degenkolb. Polit was in front of it.

Although the group drove out a lead from well over a minute, but through several falls and defects, the race assorted itself after the notorious sector in the forest of Arenberg. A trio of Matej Mohoric, Tom Devriendt and Laurent Pichon led the race a good 80 kilometers in front of the destination, while the favorites in the field behind it at about two minutes stopped.

Mohoric makes the stars - Van Aert is no longer approaching

Van Baarle wins Paris-Roubaix classic Especially the Mohoric known for his long ridges made the stars of the race. Finally, the Slovene was already celebrating victories from the Tour de France and Milan-Sanremo through daredevils. So Van Aert personally exacerbated about 57 kilometers prior to the goal of the pace, whereby Degenkolb and Polit finally suspended.

On the brutal five-star Sector Mons-en-Pévèle, Van Aert arrived again and the group of top drivers decreased again. However, the Belgian master did not get the race under control. His compatriot Yves Lampaert and the Dutch Dylan van Baarle formed a new strong top group with more than 40 seconds with Mohoric and DEVRIFTT.

Van Baarle with crucial attack

Although Flanders winner van der Poel was finally suspended, but the top did not see Van Aert again. Van Baarle finally settled shortly before the 2100 meter Carrefour de l'Arbre, one of the toughest sectors, and did not take the triumph anymore.

The race of women on Saturday won the Italian champion Elisa Longo Borghini as a soloist in front of the Belgian Lotte Kopecky and Lucinda Brand from the Netherlands. After 124.7 kilometers, Romy Kasper was ranked 19 best German at the second edition of the women's race.

119. Paris-Roubaix (257.20 km):

1. Dylan van Baarle (Netherlands) - Ineos Grenadiers 5:37:00 hours; 2. Wout Van Aert (Belgium) - Jumbo-Visa + 1:47 min.; 3. Stefan Küng (Switzerland) - Groupama-FDJ; 4. Tom Devriendt (Belgium) - Wanty-Gobert; 5. Matej Mohoric (Slovenia) - Bahrain Victorious; 6. Adrien Petit (France) - Wanty-Gobert + 2:27; 7. Jasper Stuyven (Belgium) - Trek - Segafredo; 8. Laurent Pichon (France) - Team Arkea-Samsic; 9. Mathieu van der Poel (Netherlands) - Alpecin-Fenix + 2:34; 10. Yves Lampaert (Belgium) - Decuninck-Quick-Step + 2:59